Reply
Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-15-2012

Insignia Mediacast in endless activation loop

This just started this morning.  I go through the activation process (have to key the ID, green dots don't ever work).  My content shows up on the insignia.chumby.com site, but the device itself times out trying to load channels.  A reboot of the device throws me back into activation mode.  The device has been working fine for about 2 years.

 

Any ideas?

Insignia Product Specialist
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎03-17-2010

Re: Insignia Mediacast in endless activation loop

Hello firemedic502,

In order to fully address this question, could you provide us with the product model number?

Regards,
Justin
Insignia™ Support

Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-15-2012

Re: Insignia Mediacast in endless activation loop

I said Mediacast in the message, it's actually 8" Internet Media Display, model #NS-DP8CH

Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-15-2012

Re: Insignia Mediacast in endless activation loop

BTW - as an update.  I deleted the original device from my account.  I created a new account, and then proceeded to activate the device again.  I used the green dot method, and it appeared to work fine.  The web site said it was good to go.  The device said it was activated.  I created a channel, also no problem.  Added content, no problem.

 

I go to the device to set it to my newly created channel, and it just sits there forever, then times out with an error (server error, i think it said?).  The device is pulling an IP from the wifi just fine, i can ping the device all day, so it is online, and I know my wifi is active.  I powered the device off, turned it back on, and once again, it wanted to activate.  That's where I am at this point.  As I said, all this behavior started yesterday.  When I left work Friday, all was good.

Insignia Product Specialist
Posts: 1,684
Registered: ‎03-22-2011

Re: Insignia Mediacast in endless activation loop

Hello firemedic502,

 

Just to clarify, you are having issue accessing the applications and services offered on the Infocast and the issue is unchanged from yesterday?

Regards,
Zac
Insignia™ Support
Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-15-2012

Re: Insignia Mediacast in endless activation loop

Yes - the device wants to activate every time it turns on.

Insignia Product Specialist
Posts: 1,684
Registered: ‎03-22-2011

Re: Insignia Mediacast in endless activation loop

Hello firemedic502,

 

We have no reported server side issues with Chumby so as a result, I am inclined to believe that the issue is with your device. I would suggest contacting your local Geek Squad for servicing options. Sorry for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

Regards,
Zac
Insignia™ Support
Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-15-2012

Re: Insignia Mediacast in endless activation loop

I just deactivated/reactivated.  I put in the dot pattern just fine on the device, and the web page updated, indicating that activation was successfull.  now the device itself indicates that the activation worked as well.  i have added content thru the website, and now when i try to view the content in the chumby, by selection channels from under the apps menu, the device just sits there with a "Loading..." message, eventually timing out.

 

This whole sequence tells me that it isn't a network error, and appears to be something on the insignia side?  I don't think that a hardware problem would cause the behavior i am seeing, and not sure what geek squad would do besides suggest i buy a new one.  It is about 2 years old, so I doubt it is covered under warranty.

Highlighted
Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-15-2012

Re: Insignia Mediacast in endless activation loop

Folow up -

 

After "Loading..." for about 2 minutes, the device comes back with "Server error.  Please try again later."