Reply
Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-28-2011

NS-HD01 No sound

I purchased and NS-HD01 last winter for my wife who lives in a nursing home. It runs almost 24 hrs a day, connected into the audio input jack of a clock radio, playing classical music. When I visited her yesterday, it was not making any sound.  It had been unplugged (I use an adapter to plug it into an electrical outlet for charging) and the battery was down.  After reconnecting the electricity and trying different stations and checking the volume and mute setting without success, I took the device home. There, after it was fully charged,  I tested it with headphones that work fine in another device. I walked through the trouble shooting suggestions in the manual. Then I called the help line.  The representative asked me to push the reset button and to be sure that "factory default" was set to "yes". The display works fine. I am able to tune stations and get the ID of the station, but no sound comes out at any volume level.

 

Has anyone else experienced this loss of sound? Although the warranty is only 90 days, it difficult to believe the device would fail after less than year. 

 

The radio worked fine and produced beautiful sound. I was going to buy it as a gift for others, but if this how long it lasts, I am having second thoughts.  

Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-03-2012

Re: NS-HD01 No sound

I have two of the NS-HD01 radios that have failed in exactly the same way.  They were working beautifully, then suddenly no sound with any speakers and on any station.  

Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-31-2012

Re: NS-HD01 No sound

Mine did the same thing... the only thing I can think of is I plugged it into a USB port of a Windows 7 computer, that said it didn't recognize the item.  Didn't want it to recognize it, just charge the battery.  Firmware issue???

Visitor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-04-2012

Re: NS-HD01 No sound

My HD0001 just died between turning it off and turning it on.  The Display works fine, Everything was reset to default and through the "pin-reset".  I tried to get ANY station, but nothing.

 

I think it maybe a cracked ground, or something about the final amplifier that there is no audio output.  I tried two different output plugs (headphones, cassette converter so I can listen to HD in my old car).  Nothing.

 

I wish Insignia would put out a "Technical Service Bulletin" on this one.

Visitor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-05-2013

Re: NS-HD01 No sound

It is definitely a design or manufacturing fault.  I have had FOUR HD01s go silent in the last 2 years and I am now on my fifth unit. .   The batteries were never fully discharged.  I turned it off and they just had no sound when I turned them on a few minutes later.  Everything else works fine.  Just no sound.  After the first one died out of warranty I learned and bought the BestBuy extended warranty.  I am now on first name basis with the customer service desk lady at BestBuy. 

 

Last month I went looking for a 55" HDTV.  The Insignia was less expensive but based on my experience with these HD-01s I chose a more expensive brand.  I would love to find some other pocket HD radio but this seems to be the only option. 

 

Is there anyone we can contact at Insignia?

Insignia Product Specialist
Posts: 578
Registered: ‎03-22-2011

Re: NS-HD01 No sound

Hello Gashmore,

If you have any of the failed units I'd like to try and get one from you so we can inspect it.

Regards,
Tom
Insignia™ Support

 

Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-01-2013

Re: NS-HD01 No sound

i also own a ns-hd01.  everything works but the sound. tried everything with tech support, nothing! this is happening to a lot of people. when is insignia going to repond to the problem?

Visitor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-16-2013

Re: NS-HD01 No sound

I have an NS-HD01 portable radio. Love listening to HD radio stations. Was sad when the sound went dead. Did the factor setting restore, and pressed the reset button. Fiddled with the mute button toggling it on and off. Still, I am not able to get the sound to work. Doing a search and it appears this is a very common problem with the NS-HD01. People have taken the radio apart and find nothing mechanically wrong with the headset connect. People are speculating that there is an issue with the firmware. Some have just accpeted the fact that they need to purchase an extended warranty at BestBuy and go back when it fails to get a new one.

 

Insignia, you have to know about this problem by now? Why no fix??? Please help. Love the radio, hate the silence.

Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-30-2013

Re: NS-HD01 No sound

I have the same issue.

 

Works fine, then the next day when I take it out of the charger and turn it on there's a display but no sound.

 

Am I doing something wrong (such as overcharging)? By the way, this was the second unit this has happened on.

Insignia Product Specialist
Posts: 578
Registered: ‎03-22-2011

Re: NS-HD01 No sound

Hello radioman,

 

I am sorry to hear that your aren't able to get the sound working on your NS-HD01.  Can you check that the Hold switch is set to off.  There should be a lock icon next to the battery indicator when the Hold is on and no icon when the Hold is off.  Try resetting to Factory Defaults and hold down the reset button next to the hold switch.  Also check the the volume is turned up and your headphones are securely plugged in.  If you still cannot get sound to work I would recommend returning with your NS-HD01 and a copy of your receipt to your place of purchase in order to pursue the possibility of warranty repair or replacement.

 

Please let me know the outcome of the troubleshooting.

Regards,
Tom
Insignia™ Support