Reply
Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-24-2014

Radio HD Radio NS-HDRAD does not show RDS message

I've been in the USA in Miami and bought the best one Buy Tablet HD Radio model NS-HDRAD, I live in São Paulo Brazil and here also the digital sistem is in testing, but we have analog FM stations with RDS system sending messages, the problem with this radio is not decoding messages because that decodes RBDS which is the messaging system adopted in the USA, there would be some way to make my radio decode the RDS system?

Insignia Product Specialist
Posts: 1,354
Registered: ‎07-21-2014

Re: Radio HD Radio NS-HDRAD does not show RDS message

Hello FranJr,

Welcome to Community@ Insignia™!

Unfortunately our devices are only intended for use in the US,  and were not built with any flexibility for changing decoding systems.

Regards,
Jon
Insignia™ Support

Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-24-2014

Re: Radio HD Radio NS-HDRAD does not show RDS message

Ok Jon, thanks for infomação without problems as there is no modification to RDS, I'm happy with the performance of the reception as the sensitivity and selectivity, I am getting easily distant FM analog stations above 100 km from my house only with the antenna telescopic radio.

 

hugs...... Fran .....from Brazil

Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-25-2015

Re: Radio HD Radio NS-HDRAD does not show RDS message

Hello,

 

I just bought an Insignia NS-HRAD from Best Buy's web site and it does not display RDS information here in the United States for FM stations that broadcast it as verified with my car radio. I tested this on stattions with a strong signal to rule out that there wasn't good enough rececption for RDS.

 

According to the user manual this radio should display available RDS information for FM stations: http://www.insigniaproducts.com/cms/documents/manuals/NS-HDRAD_Manual_EN.pdf

 

What is going on?  Do I need to return my radio?

 

Insignia Product Specialist
Posts: 1,354
Registered: ‎07-21-2014

Re: Radio HD Radio NS-HDRAD does not show RDS message

Hello matthias_h,

Welcome to Community@ Insignia™!

The radio should see any RDS info being sent, and display that automatically. Try multiple HD stations, and see if at any time you show the "RBDS" icon on the radio display.

Regards,
Jon
Insignia™ Support

Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-25-2015

Re: Radio HD Radio NS-HDRAD does not show RDS message

Hi,

 

Well, the radio does this only for HD stations but not for analog FM stations with RDS. I just tested this again in a BestBuy store at the customer service desk. I took another NS-HDRAD off the store shelf and tuned it into an analog FN station side-by-side with my Grundig (Eton) G3 radio. The Grundig would display the station ID and the Insignia NS-HDRAD would not. So I ended up returning my radio but now I don't have any. :-(

Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-19-2015

Re: Radio HD Radio NS-HDRAD does not show RDS message

I too have had the same problem I have tried a total of 3 different units and have had the same results... I also own the Insignia NS-HD01A portable player, and it works GREAT!  

 

In another forum,it was mentioned that the date code/firm ware seemed to make a difference on the NS-HD01A as to how it performed.... up dated version had more features/better performance.

 

I was wondering if that made a difference in the case of my NS-HDRAD?  I found elsewhere on the net how to change the audio to split mode function and othef funtions by holding down the SOURCE button for 5 seconds.., so is it possible that the RDS needs to be "turned On" or reset some how?

 

The RDS function is the second most important function after the HD capability that I purchased the radio for... Really disappointed if the RDS is just an un abtainium feature of the NS-HDRAD...

 

IS A RECALL IN ORDER HERE? 

Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-26-2015

Re: Radio HD Radio NS-HDRAD does not show RDS message

I am a broadcast engineer for several large groups in upstate NY.  I purchased the NS-HDRAD to monitor our HD stations and RDS subcarriers.  I can verify that the RBDS feature on this radio DOES NOT work at all.  Our stations that are broadcasting the 57Khz RDS subcarrier at a typical injection level of 5-7% do NOT display data on this radio.

 

Jon, Please forward this to your engineering team, as they may need to release a firmware upgrade or provide instructions how to enable the RBDS feature.  Otherwise, the HD features work well.

Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2016

Re: Radio HD Radio NS-HDRAD does not show RDS message

I just bought one with a 2016 serial number date and it still does not broadcast RBDS. I will be returning mine. Need to have a firmware update. Appears that it has been going on for awhile.