Reply
Insignia Support
Posts: 626
Registered: ‎02-25-2009

10. My TV is not working at all (i.e., will not turn on using remote or button on TV, LED flashing).

[ Edited ]

 

    • Unplug the power cord, wait a few seconds, plug the cord back in again, then turn on your TV.
    • Try plugging the TV into another outlet.
    • Other devices (e.g., surround sound receiver, external speakers, fans, etc) may be interfering with your TV.  Try turning one device off at a time to determine which device is causing the interference.

 

  • Once you have determined which device is causing interference, please move it further from the TV to eliminate the interference.

 

 

 

Insignia Support
Posts: 626
Registered: ‎02-25-2009

11. I am receiving the error message “No Signal”.

[ Edited ]
  • Press INPUT and make sure have selected the correct input for the device or service you are trying to use.
  • Are you using a cable/satellite box, cable connected directly to the TV, or an antenna?
    • If you are using a cable or satellite box you must use the remote that came with that box to change channels.
      • Make sure you have the correct input selected to view channels via the cable or satellite box.  For example, if the cable or satellite box is connected via component cables press the COMP button on your remote to select Component to view your channels.
    • If you are using cable connected directly to the TV, you need to scan for channels.
      • To scan for channels:
  1. Press MENU. The on-screen menu opens with the Picture menu displayed.
  2. Press or to highlight the CHANNELS. The Channels menu opens.
  3. Press to highlight Auto Channel Search, then press OK/ENTER or to open the Auto Channel Search screen.
  4. Press to highlight Cable, then press OK/ENTER to start the scan. You can see the search progress and how many channels are found in the on-screen menu. After the scan is complete, the menu closes and your TV tunes to the first channel in the channel list.
  • If you are using an antenna, you need to scan for channels.
    • To scan for channels:
  1. Press MENU. The on-screen menu opens with the Picture menu displayed.
  2. Press or to highlight the CHANNELS. The Channels menu opens.
  3. Press to highlight Auto Channel Search, then press OK/ENTER or to open the Auto Channel Search screen.
  4. Press to highlight Antenna, then press OK/ENTER to start the scan. You can see the search progress and how many channels are found in the on-screen menu. After the scan is complete, the menu closes and your TV tunes to the first channel in the channel list.

 

Insignia Support
Posts: 626
Registered: ‎02-25-2009

12. I am missing channels or a single channel.

[ Edited ]

 

    • Try entering the channel manually using the number keypad on your remote.
    • Make sure the channel is not hidden. Channels can be deleted from the channel list so that when you press channel up or down it will skip the hidden channels.

 

  • To unhide a channel:

 

  1. Press MENU. The on-screen menu opens with the Picture menu displayed.
  2. Press ◄ or ► to select CHANNELS. The Channels menu opens.
  3. Press ▼ to highlight Add/SKIP, then press OK/ENTER or ► to open the Channel Lists screen.
  4. Press ▲ ▼ ◄ or ► to highlight the channel you want to unhide, then press OK/ENTER. If the channel has a check mark next to it, the channel is in the channel list.
  5. Press EXIT to close the menu.

 

    • Are you using a cable/satellite box, cable connected directly to the TV, or an antenna?

 

  • If you are using a cable or satellite box you must use the remote that came with that box to change channels.

 

  1. Make sure you have the correct input selected to view channels via the cable or satellite box.  For example, if the cable or satellite box is connected via component cables press the COMP button on your remote to select Component to view your channels.
  2. Reception can vary by channel depending on the broadcast power level of a given station.  Contact your cable or satellite provider.

 

  • If you are using cable connected directly to the TV:
  • Try scanning for channels:

 

  1. Press MENU. The on-screen menu opens with the Picture menu displayed.
  2. Press or to highlight the CHANNELS. The Channels menu opens.
  3. Press to highlight Auto Channel Search, then press OK/ENTER or to open the Auto Channel Search screen.
  4. Press to highlight Cable, then press OK/ENTER to start the scan. You can see the search progress and how many channels are found in the on-screen menu. After the scan is complete, the menu closes and your TV tunes to the first channel in the channel list.

 

  • Reception can vary by channel depending on the broadcast power level of a given station.  Contact your cable provider.
    • If you are using an antenna:
    • Try scanning for channels:

 

  1. Press MENU. The on-screen menu opens with the Picture menu displayed.
  2. Press or to highlight the CHANNELS. The Channels menu opens.
  3. Press to highlight Auto Channel Search, then press OK/ENTER or to open the Auto Channel Search screen.
  4. Press to highlight Antenna, then press OK/ENTER to start the scan. You can see the search progress and how many channels are found in the on-screen menu. After the scan is complete, the menu closes and your TV tunes to the first channel in the channel list.

 

  • The signal strength of the channel may be low.

 

–         Check the signal strength of the digital channels:

 

  1. Press CH ▲ or CH ▼ to select the channel you want and to view the selected channel strength.
  2. Press MENU. The on-screen menu opens with the Picture menu displayed.
  3. Press or to highlight CHANNELS. The Channels menu opens.
  4. Press to highlight Channel Strength, then press OK/ENTER or to open the DTV signal meter.
  5. Move the antenna around the room or close to a window. Check the signal strength of the digital channels again. The optimal location may vary by channel.
  6. Press EXIT to close the menu.

 

  • The UHF band (channels 14 and higher) is more directional than VHF (channels 2-13) and more sensitive to obstacles (such as trees, tall buildings, and mountains) that lie between your antenna and the broadcast tower. Getting good UHF reception can be more difficult than VHF.
  • If you're getting marginal reception of digital signals, both the picture and sound might freeze or break up to the point that it's not watchable. If you're really on the fringes—either too far from a tower or with too many obstacles in the way—you'll see a black screen that says "No signal."
  • Reception can vary by channel, depending on the location and broadcast power level of a given station.
  • Make sure your antenna is connected securely to the TV.
  • Use a basic indoor set-top antenna designed to pick up both VHF and UHF.

 

OR

 

Use a set-top antenna that has a built-in signal amplifier.

 

OR

 

Use an antenna mounted on your roof or in your attic

 

  • For more information about antennas and the available channels in your area, visit www.antennaweb.org

 

 

 

Insignia Support
Posts: 626
Registered: ‎02-25-2009
Insignia Support
Posts: 626
Registered: ‎02-25-2009

14. I have no sound or my sound has static noise.

[ Edited ]

 

    • Check volume levels.
    • Make sure the TV volume is not muted.
    • Make sure headphones are not connected to the headphone jack.
    • Make sure your connections are connected correctly to the jacks on the TV and on the external devices.
    • Check the signal strength of the digital channels. It is possible you are receiving marginal reception.  Both the picture and sound may freeze or break up due to poor reception.
  1. Press CH ▲ or CH ▼ to select the channel you want and to view the selected channel strength.
  2. Press MENU. The on-screen menu opens with the Picture menu displayed.
  3. Press or to highlight CHANNELS. The Channels menu opens.
  4. Press to highlight Channel Strength, then press OK/ENTER or to open the DTV signal meter.
  5. Move the antenna around the room or close to a window. Check the signal strength of the digital channels again. The optimal location may vary by channel.
  6. Press EXIT to close the menu.
    • The audio cables you are using may be bad, try a new set.

 

Insignia Support
Posts: 626
Registered: ‎02-25-2009

15. How do I turn on/off closed captioning?

[ Edited ]
    • Press the CCD button on the remote to select CC Off, CC On or CC On when Mute.
    • Advanced closed captioning settings can be found in the Menu under Settings.