Reply
Visitor
stewyserg
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-17-2010

1440x900 via HDMI wont fill screen

I have nvidia 9600 with DVI to HDMI cable running at 1440x900. Want to use up the wide screen but this TV has black bars on the right and left sides, seems to be running as a 4:3 ratio as opposed to 16:9. Anyone can help in settings or 1:1 mapping for this set ??

Insignia Support
John-INSG
Posts: 4,703
Registered: ‎03-20-2009

Re: 1440x900 via HDMI wont fill screen

Hello stewyserg,

Welcome to Community@Insignia™!

1440x900 may not be compatible with your TV.  Screen resolution should be listed in the owner's manual for your TV under specifications.  You should adjust your video card settings to the appropriate compatible output.

 

If you need further assistance, please let us know.  Be sure to include your TV model number, details of how you've connected components (e.g. HDMI1, HDMI2, etc.), and any other information that will help us help you.

Regards,
John
Insignia™ Support

Visitor
stewyserg
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-17-2010

Re: 1440x900 via HDMI wont fill screen

 

Its an NS-LCD-19W-09 and the specs are listed as being a 1440x900 panel. When I push on the DISPLAY button remote it will display on-screen HDMI 1440x900@60Hz.

Insignia Support
John-INSG
Posts: 4,703
Registered: ‎03-20-2009

Re: 1440x900 via HDMI wont fill screen

Hello again stewyserg,

I would still recommend adjusting your video card settings until you have achieved a resolution that displays as you want.  I suggest starting at a lower resolution (1366x768, for example) and working toward the maximum.  Let us know your results.

Regards,
John
Insignia™ Support

Visitor
stewyserg
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-17-2010

Re: 1440x900 via HDMI wont fill screen

I have tried just about every resolution setting available in the Nvidia Control Panel  and still cant get a Full screen. Is there a way of getting this TV to be able to do 1:1 mapping ??

Insignia Support
John-INSG
Posts: 4,703
Registered: ‎03-20-2009

Re: 1440x900 via HDMI wont fill screen

Hello stewyserg,

Since the TV displays the signal it receives from your computer and you've indicated that a compatible setting is not available in the Nvidia control panel, I recommend that you contact your computer's manufacturer or Nvidia for further assistance.  

Regards,
John
Insignia™ Support

Visitor
stewyserg
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-17-2010

Re: 1440x900 via HDMI wont fill screen

My question regarding 1:1 mapping was not answered. Just want to take advantage of the 1440x900 panel with as little other processing as possible. Hitting the PIC size button on the remote gives me two options...NORMAL and FULL. NORMAL option gives me the square picture with black bars on the left and right side that I have mentioned. FULL gives me and overblown picture where the left and right are cut off and not viewable.

Insignia Support
John-INSG
Posts: 4,703
Registered: ‎03-20-2009

Re: 1440x900 via HDMI wont fill screen

Hello stewyserg,

I would recommend reviewing this topic for solutions that worked for other forum users as far as 1:1 mapping.  Gonza from our technical team also responded previously about this issue here.  There's more info in the Community if you search for "1:1" or "1 : 1" (include the quotation marks).  However, I reiterate my recommendation -- in the event that the offered solutions do not work for you -- to contact your computer manufacturer for assistance troubleshooting.

Regards,
John
Insignia™ Support