Reply
Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-15-2014

Auto-Scan Results in Duplicate Channel Entries

TV - ns-39E480A13

Firmware - r1.01_120815

Purchased - November 2012

Viewing Mode - Off-air / Rooftop Antenna

Viewing Location - near both San Francisco and San Jose

 

When I run Auto-Scan, it mostly works OK, but 5 stations show up twice in the list of stations

     all channel 2 stations (2-1, 2-2)

     all channel 7 stattions (7-1, 7-2, 7-3)

It is not a big problem - I just go into the list and de-select the duplicates, and everything is fine, until I auto-scan again, which I do 1-2 times per year to check for new stations.  Unlike other reports, once I de-select, the problem remains solved.

 

Questions:

1.  Is this a know issue?

2.  Is there a firmware update that fixes this problem?

3.  Is there ANY firmware update, newer than the one that I have?

 

Insignia Product Specialist
Posts: 1,351
Registered: ‎10-15-2013

Re: Auto-Scan Results in Duplicate Channel Entries

Hello eliabbe,

Welcome to Community@ Insignia™!

1.  Sort of.  It's known, but not an issue.  2.1 and 2.2 are digital stations.  Those are normal and would be expected to be there.

2.  It is not necessay.  Those channels are supposed to be there.

3.  You have the current firmware.

Regards,
Jeremy
Insignia™ Support

Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-15-2014

Re: Auto-Scan Results in Duplicate Channel Entries

Jeremy - 

 

Thanks for the quick response.  I think I was not clear in my original post.  EACH of the subchannels that I mentioned appears TWICE in my list of channels after doing an auto-scan. For example, I have

      2-1, 2-1, 2-2, 2-2

and

      7-1, 7-1, 7-2, 7-2, 7-3, 7-3

It only happens for Channels 2 and 7.  For example, Channel 4 appears normally, as

      4-1, 4-2, 4-3

 

Other people have reported a related issue - see

     http://community.insigniaproducts.com/t5/Televisions/multiple-duplicate-channels/m-p/70972/highlight...

which you commented on.  I have not been able to find any resolution to it, other than the one that I mentioned, which is to mark the duplicates for being skipped.  .

 

In a sense, you have answered my main question, which is whether there is a firmware upgrade to fix the problem, but I would be interested in any other insight you could give to this rather unusual problem.  It is worse for some of the other people who reported that NEW DUPLICATES appear, even when they don't run auto-scan.

 

Thanks!

 

Insignia Product Specialist
Posts: 1,351
Registered: ‎10-15-2013

Re: Auto-Scan Results in Duplicate Channel Entries

Hello eliabbe,

I apologize for the misunderstanding and thank you for the correction.  Can I ask whether you are connected to cable or antenna?  Who is your cable supplier(if applicable)?  What are the stations that are duplicating?

Regards,
Jeremy
Insignia™ Support

Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-15-2014

Re: Auto-Scan Results in Duplicate Channel Entries

Viewing Mode -

       Off-air / Rooftop Antenna

             (no cable or satelite)

Viewing Location -

         near both San Francisco and San Jose

 Duplicated Channel - 

     all channel 2 stations (2-1, 2-2)

     all channel 7 stattions (7-1, 7-2, 7-3)

 

All other broadcast channels in the region show up correctly.

 

I hope this helps.  Let me know if you need any other info

Insignia Product Specialist
Posts: 1,351
Registered: ‎10-15-2013

Re: Auto-Scan Results in Duplicate Channel Entries

Hello , eliabbe

Do both of the versions of each channel show the same programming, or does one show blank while the other has the active programming? You can try disconnecting the antannae and running a channel scan, then reconnecting the antannae and running the scan to see if that will clear the faulty channel listings from the memory.

Regards,
Jeremy
Insignia™ Support

Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-15-2014

Re: Auto-Scan Results in Duplicate Channel Entries

Jeremy - 

 

Thanks for following up.

 

The channel shows up normally under BOTH of the appearances in the channel list.  And, they are in the same mode/resolution, like "720p HD".

 

I tried scanning with no antenna.  I verified that the channel list was emptly.  Then I reconnected the antenna and scanned again.  The problem is still there - the SAME 5 channels are duplictated.

 

 

Insignia Product Specialist
Posts: 1,354
Registered: ‎07-21-2014

Re: Auto-Scan Results in Duplicate Channel Entries

Hello eliabbe,

Thank you for responding!

At this point this may be a conflict of stations being transmitted from multiple transmitters, or a nearby building reflecting signal. If you have purchased a GSP you can have the tv reviewed under that plan in store. If not, at this point my best suggestion is when running a channel scan, plan on going into the Add/Remove screen in order to hide the duplicates.


Regards,
Jon
Insignia™ Support

Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-15-2014

Re: Auto-Scan Results in Duplicate Channel Entries

Mystery Solved!

 

Doing some research on local broadcast stations, I found out that both KTVU (2) and KGO (7) have two broadcast signals in the Bay Area.  Each of them broadcasts a "full-power" signal from Sutro tower in San Francisco.  They also broadcast a "low-power" Broadcast Relay Station from Mounment Peak in the East Bay.  My TV is obviously picking up both of them.  Since the channel list only shows the "virtual channel" (like 2-1), I could not tell that they were two different signals.  Even now, since the list does not show the underlying UHF/VHF channel number, I can't tell which one is which.

Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-09-2017

Re: Auto-Scan Results in Duplicate Channel Entries

This answered the same question I had.  However, you can tell which transmitter is the Sutro one, since it pixilates during foggy SF weather.