Reply
Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-20-2011

ur5u-8780l-bht bright house networks remote "video source"

I have a ur5u-8780l-bht bright house networks remote, with a scientific atlanta box. 

 

I have the remote working for the box, and the tc i can only change the volume and (tv) channels. I’m running 2 HDMI ports for my game and box consoles, and i used the factory remote to stitch the video source.

 

Until recently the factory remote was lost and i accidentally stitched a channel witch brought the TV from HDMI 1 to TV, thus no single & more TV. I’ve tried every code i could find, but when i select "video source” on my ur5u-8780l-bht bright house networks remote, it only turns the CC on and off. Is there a code or way i can program that "video source" from my TV to this remote.

 

My TV: NS - 32E570A11

Insignia Support
Posts: 5,083
Registered: ‎03-20-2009

Re: Insignia TV Remote Control Codes – Official Thread

[ Edited ]

Hello jpjr47 & Jaymann220,

Welcome to Community@Insignia™!

Unfortunately, no universal remote control is compatible with every product. Most basic universals will only provide control for basic features of your TV, e.g., power, volume, and channel access. If you have found a code that provides any of these functions, then there is not another code we can provide. Generally, a higher-end universal remote control (or the factory remote) is required for accessing all features on a TV.

Regards,
John
Insignia™ Support

John
Insignia Support
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-18-2011

Re: Insignia TV Remote Control Codes – Official Thread

To anyone who is having trouble getting your remote to control all of your TV's features - Insignia's support was useless for me, telling me that the universal remote that came with my cable box was only meant to control basic features like volume and power.  Obviously, this is not true - these remotes have buttons like "Input" so that you can control the TV's Input function.  I found a solution on a different forum.  I suggest posting here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=20840782#post20840782

Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-23-2011

Re: Insignia TV Remote Control Codes – Official Thread

i have this insignia tv: http://insigniaproducts.com/products/televisions/IS-HDPLTV42.html?noquery=null

model number: IS-HDPLTV42

 

the tv does not have a manual input button on it and the junk remote does not work. i cannot change input sources so the tv is basically useless as i cannot get out of the air/cable channel source and switch it to component or vga input. what can i do? can i find a replacement remote? what remote code can i use to program a universal remote? none are listed. please help as my tv is useless right now.

Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-23-2011

Re: Insignia TV Remote Control Codes – Official Thread

Insignia Support
Posts: 5,083
Registered: ‎03-20-2009

Re: Insignia TV Remote Control Codes – Official Thread

Hello superstreet,

Welcome to Community@Insignia™!

Try this with your remote control: remove the batteries, press all of its buttons and install fresh batteries. This will resolve many remote control issues. Unfortunately, a replacement factory remote control is not available for purchase.

 

Many universal remote controls can be used with Insiginia TVs. If you have a specific one for which you cannot find a code (please see the first message in this thread for a listing of codes for popular remotes), please reply with the brand and model of your universal remote control. Please also include the TV model number in your reply, as you did here.

Regards,
John
Insignia™ Support

John
Insignia Support
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-26-2011

Insignia TV NS-24E730A12 & DirecTV RC65X

TV model: NS-24E730A12

Universal Remote: DirecTV RC65X

 

When I attempt to turn off the receiver and the TV using the universal remote, everything shuts down as expected, but then the TV turns back on seconds later. I have tried several codes (listed below) with no luck in preventing the TV from turning itself on after just being turned off. In the end, I end up using the universal remote to turn the TV and receiver off, and then soon after -- I have to grab the TV remote to turn the TV off after it turns itself on.

 

Remote Codes I've tried:

12049

11710

11785

11564

11780

11641

10171

11204

11326

11517

11963

12002

 

 

Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-28-2011

Re: Insignia TV Remote Control Codes – Official Thread

Hi there. 

 

First of all, I would like to say that I love our new 42" Insignia television.  Great value and quality!  I am trying to program our Comcast remote to work with the TV.  Several of the codes allow me to turn on and off the TV as well as change the volume.  However, none of the codes or even searching (about 1 hour) are able to successfully work the "input" function on the TV.  I keep seeing a "not allowed" symbol on the middle of the screen.  Can you help?

 

TV: NS-42L780A12

REMOTE: Comcast - ON DEMAND - Custom DVR 3 Device

 

Thank you!

Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-08-2011

Re: Insignia TV Remote Control Codes – Official Thread

Do you switch the remote to the "TV" position?

I have to do that with my remote to get the input function to work.  Otherwise I get the same result you described.

Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-28-2011

Re: Insignia TV Remote Control Codes – Official Thread

Yes I do. I press the TV button first and then I press the TV/VCR button.