Reply
Contributor
rbrickler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-23-2011

Roku 2 XD no audio through HDMI

I have a NS-L46Q120 that I am trying to get the HDMI audio working with my Roku2 XD. I just updated the firmware of my TV. Roku does not seem to have any answers beyond saying that it is a problem with the HDMI Audio hardware on the TV, which I find hard to believe as a standard is a standard.... I was hoping someone could shed some light on the issue to get it working or give me some ammo to send back to Roku Support to tell them why their stuff doesn't work. I would like to note also that I had tried the original Roku a while back before the 2 came out and the audio worked just fine then.... Also, I have tried all the HDMI ports, I have attempted both audio settings, the default Stereo and the Dolby 5.1 that are in the Audio menu. I have powered down both devices and so far no luck. Right now I am hooked in through the standard RCA A/V cables. The picture isn't as pretty as it could be, but it works....
Insignia Product Specialist
Zac-INSG
Posts: 1,684
Registered: ‎03-22-2011

Re: Roku 2 XD no audio through HDMI

Hello rbrickler,

 

Have you tried using a different HDMI cable or tried connecting the Roku box to a different TV with an HDMI connection to verify the audio out on HDMI is working?

Regards,
Zac
Insignia™ Support
Contributor
rbrickler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-23-2011

Re: Roku 2 XD no audio through HDMI

I have a new HDMI cable coming to try it. The cable I have works fine with my PC. I have not tried it on my other set which is a Sharp
Contributor
rbrickler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-23-2011

Re: Roku 2 XD no audio through HDMI

With the current cable I have that works fine with my PC, it works fine on my other TV (the Sharp) with HDMI. So it appears to be a problem with the Insignia TV itself. None of the 4 HDMI ports produce audio on the set. I have the latest firmware flashed to the set from the web site.
Insignia Product Specialist
Zac-INSG
Posts: 1,684
Registered: ‎03-22-2011

Re: Roku 2 XD no audio through HDMI

Hello rbrickler,

 

Just to verify, when you have your computer connected with HDMI you are able to get sound, but the Roku box does not produce sound when using the same cable and port?

Regards,
Zac
Insignia™ Support
Contributor
rbrickler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-23-2011

Re: Roku 2 XD no audio through HDMI

Correct.  If I unhook the Roku and hook up my PC with the same HDMI cable to any of the HDMI Ports, even the same one the Roku was just in, audio and video work fine.  Audio and Video work on a different brand TV with the Roku through that same cable.  The combination not working is no audio with the Roku and the Insignia TV via HDMI on any of the 4 available HDMI connections.

Insignia Product Specialist
Zac-INSG
Posts: 1,684
Registered: ‎03-22-2011

Re: Roku 2 XD no audio through HDMI

Hello Rbrickler,

 

It is possible that there is a HDCP conflict that is causing your Roku to not output audio properly. I would suggest trying the following troubleshooting steps:

 

  1. Plug the Roku box into HDMI 1 of the TV.
  2. Turn the TV on and switch to HDMI 1.
  3. Switch the input to HDMI 2, then back to HDMI 1.

This should allow the HDCP handshake to accept properly and allow audio. Give that a try and let me know if it resolves the issue.

Regards,
Zac
Insignia™ Support
Contributor
rbrickler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-23-2011

Re: Roku 2 XD no audio through HDMI

I was hopeful, but unfortunately, still no sound through the HDMI.

Insignia Product Specialist
Zac-INSG
Posts: 1,684
Registered: ‎03-22-2011

Re: Roku 2 XD no audio through HDMI

Hello,

 

We are going to investigate this further and as soon as I have more information I will let you know.

Regards,
Zac
Insignia™ Support
Contributor
rbrickler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-23-2011

Re: Roku 2 XD no audio through HDMI

Thanks, I look forward to hearing back.